HTC Vive Preorder Available In An Hour: Now with Tilt Brush, Regional Pricing

A quick news post for anyone following the HTC Vive announcements: as we reported back at MWC, the official pricing and timing for pre-orders was announced. For your $799 on February 29th at 10am EST, you get the following:

  • HTC Vive head mounted display (HMD)
  • Two Base Stations (for location)
  • One pair of controllers
  • A Link Box
  • Vive Ear buds

As part of the package, two titles were also announced as being bundled: Job Simulator (the demo of which I still remember vividly as trying managed to microwave steak and wine) and Fantastic Contraption. As of yesterday, HTC announced that Google’s Tilt Brush will also be a part of the pre-order bundle for a limited time. Tilt Brush is the VR equivalent of MS Paint, that initial drawing platform allowing users to create, but this time in a full 3D environment.

The pre-order time is set to go green in about an hour:

  • 10am ET
  • 7am PT
  • 3pm GMT (UK)
  • 4pm CET

The listed $799 price last week was the US pricing, without tax. HTC has announced regional pricing as well:

Region MSRP Pricing
* indicates without tax pricing
USA USD $799*
Canada CAD $1149*
Australia USD $899
China CNY 6888
Taiwan NTD $28,288
Japan JPY ¥111,999
UK GBP £689
New Zealand USD $949
Eurozone EUR €899

Credit card purchases will use a hold on the funds, whereas Paypal transactions will be processed immediately. Shipping beings April 5th, indicating that pre-orders will be first come, first serve, limited to one per customer. The link to preorder will be www.htcvive.com – we have not heard if there is limited preorder units, or if it will be ‘as we build them, they will be shipped’.

Leave a Reply