If you are using Windows 10, you can realize that in this OS, by default, the confirmation dialog does not appear when you delete data.
That is, when you select a file or folder and press the delete key , Windows will not show a confirmation dialog to ask if you want to delete the file/folder or not ? Some users may like this new feature because it is easy to delete a file or a folder fast. But some people may not. However, you still can be showed the confirming box when you delete a file permanently by using Shift + Delete. If you want to be asked to confirm when you delete only by pressing Delete, let’s follow our article.
|Confirming is really necessary for users|
When a confirmation dialog is activated, you will see the question: “Are you sure you want to move these files to Recycle Bin?”. This question is truly useful in case the users do not tend to delete the file, they just press the delete button by chance, or in another situation, the users sometimes regret right after the moment they press Delete button because of some certain reasons. Under any circumstances, we should be provided a dialog to confirm before making something disappear from our computer.
To active that feature, you should follow these steps. They are as easy as a pie. Firstly, on the desktop of Windows 10, right-click the Recycle Bin icon -> Click Properties
On the Recycle Bin Properties window in “General” tab, click on the feature “Display delete confirmation dialog” > Click “Apply” > Click “OK “to save the settings!
Now , Windows 10 will display a confirmation dialog when you move a file or folder to the Recycle Bin !
If you have any questions, please let us know by leaving your comments in the box below. We are glad to see your feedback! Thank you!